Statute of Limitations

 

(WD=Wrongful Death; Neg=Negligence; PL=Products Liability; MedMal=Medical Malpractice)

State Time Limit Statute Link to State Statute/Legislature
Alabama2 years (MedMal, Neg, PL, WD)Ala. Code §§6-5-428; 6-2-38; 6-5-410 Go There
Alaska2 years (MedMal, Neg, PL, WD)AS §09.10.070 Go There
Arizona2 years (MedMal, Neg, PL, WD)Ariz. Rev. Stat. §12-542 Go There
Arkansas3 years (Neg, PL, WD if not MedMal); 2 years (MedMal)Ark. Code Ann. §§16-56-105; 16-62-102; 16-114-203; 16-116-103 Go There
California2 years (MedMal, Neg, PL, WD)CCP §335.1 Go There
Colorado2 years (MedMal, Neg, PL, WD)Colo. Rev. Stat. §§13-80-102; 13-80-102.5 Go There
Connecticut2 years (MedMal, Neg, WD); 3 years (PL)Conn. Gen. Stat. §§52-577a; 52-584 Go There
Delaware2 years (MedMal, Ned, PL, WD)Del. Stat. §§10-81-8119; 18-68-6856 Go There
District of Columbia3 yearsTitle 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 12-301 Go There
Florida4 yearsTitle 8, Ch. 95, Sec. 95.11 Go There
Georgia2 yearsSec. 9-3-33 Go There
Hawaii2 yearsRev. Stat. Sec. 657.7 Go There
Idaho2 yearsTitle 5, Ch. 2, Sec. 5-219 Go There
Illinois2 yearsCh. 735, Act 5, Art 13, Sec. 13-202 Go There
Indiana2 yearsTitle 34, Art. 11, Ch. 2, Sec. 34-11-2-4 Go There
Iowa2 yearsChapter 614, Section 614.1 Go There
Kansas2 yearsChapter 60, Art 5, Sec. 60-513 Go There
Kentucky1 yearTitle 36, Chapter 413, Sec. 413.140 Go There
Louisiana1 yearCi. Code. Art. 3492 Go There
Maine6 yearsTitle 14,Part 2, Ch. 205, Sub. 1, Sec. 752 Go There
Maryland3 yearsCourts and Judicial Proceedings, Sec. 5-101 Go There
Massachusetts3 yearsTitle 5, Ch. 260, Secs. 2A and 4 Go There
Michigan3 yearsChapter 600, Act 236, Ch. 58, Sec. 600.5805, number 9 Go There
Minnesota2 yearsCh. 541, Sec 541.05, 541.07 Go There
Mississippi3 yearsTitle 15, Ch. 1, Sec. 15-1-49 Go There
Missouri5 yearsTitle 35, Ch. 516, Sec. 516.120 Go There
Montana3 yearsTitle 27, Ch. 2, 27-2-204 and 27-2-207 Go There
Nebraska4 yearsTitle 25, Section 207, 25-207 Go There
Nevada2 years (WD,Neg)

4 years (PL)

Chapter 11, Sec 11.190 Go There
New Hampshire3 yearsChapter 508, Sec. 508.4 Go There
New Jersey2 yearsTitle 2A, Ch. 14, Sec. 2A:14-2 Go There
New Mexico3 yearsCh. 37, Art. 1, Sec. 37-1-8 Go There
New York3 yearsCivil Practice Laws and Rules, Art. 2, Sec. 214 Go There
North Carolina2 yearsTitle 1, Section 1-52 Go There
North Dakota6 years; 2 years wrongful deathTitle 28, Ch. 1, Secs. 28-01-16 and 28-01-18 Go There
Ohio2 yearsTitle 23, Ch. 5, Sec. 2305.10 Go There
Oklahoma2 yearsTitle 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 95 Go There
Oregon2 yearsCh. 12, Sec. 12.110 Go There
Pennsylvania2 years42 Pa.C.S. § 5524 Go There
Rhode Island3 yearsTitle 9, Ch. 1, Sec. 9-1-14 Go There
South Carolina3 yearsTitle 15, Ch. 3, Sec. 15-3-530 Go There
South Dakota3 yearsTitle 15, Ch. 2, Sec. 15-2-14 Go There
Tennessee1 yearTitle 28, Ch. 3, Sec. 28-3-104 Go There
Texas2 yearsCiv. Prac. & Rem Code, Title 2, Ch. 16, Sec. 16.003 Go There
Utah4 yearsTitle 78, Ch. 12, Sec. 78-12-25 Go There
Vermont3 yearsTitle 12, Part 2, Ch. 23, Subch. 2, Sec. 512 Go There
Virginia2 yearsTitle 8.01, Ch. 4, Sec. 8.01-243 Go There
Washington3 yearsTitle 4, Ch. 16, Sec. 4.16.080 Go There
West Virginia2 yearsTitle 55, Ch. 2, Sec. 55-2-12 Go There
Wisconsin3 years (MedMal, Neg, PL, WD)Chapter 893, §§ 893.51-57 Go There
Wyoming4 years (MedMal, Neg, PL, WD) Wyo. Stat. § 1-3-105 Go There

 

Disclaimer: The law generally limits the time within which you may bring a lawsuit for personal injuries for someone else's negligence. The above chart is only a directory and guide, and is not intended to constitute legal advice. There may be exceptions in your state which increase or decrease the time within which you must file a lawsuit.  Please check the statutes in your state before relying on this information or consult with an attorney, as the law may have changed. This could affect your rights.